Skip to content

From Archaic to Transpersonal: A Deep Dive into Human Development

Ken Wilber, a prominent philosopher and creator of Integral Theory, has proposed a model of human development that encompasses multiple lines, levels, states, and types. Within the context of levels (or stages) of development, Wilber integrates various developmental models into a broad, comprehensive framework.

Wilber’s levels of development are often represented by different colors, and while there are many nuances and sub-stages within each level, here is a simplified overview of the primary levels:

  1. Archaic (Beige):
    • This is the most basic level, akin to the earliest stages of human evolution.
    • It’s characterized by survival-based instincts and is self-preservation oriented.
    • At this stage, the primary concern is meeting basic physiological needs.
  2. Magic (Purple):
    • Tribal and familial allegiance dominates this stage.
    • There’s a belief in magical forces and spirits. Rituals and totems are used to influence these animistic forces.
    • The world is perceived as mysterious and filled with magical causality.
  3. Power Gods (Red):
    • Here, the world is a place of heroes, gods, and clashing forces.
    • The individual begins to assert their power, break free from the tribe, and stand as an independent entity.
    • It’s an egocentric stage, often associated with impulsive and powerful actions.
  4. Mythic Order (Blue):
    • This stage sees the rise of organized religions and belief systems.
    • There’s a strong belief in absolute truth, and moral codes are derived from a higher power or divine order.
    • Authority, rules, and discipline are essential components. The world is ordered, with clear distinctions between right and wrong.
  5. Scientific Achievement (Orange):
    • Rationality, science, and objective truth are paramount.
    • It’s a world-centric stage, where global issues and universal rights become significant.
    • There’s a strong emphasis on autonomy, progress, and achievement.
  6. The Sensitive Self (Green):
    • This stage values equality, sensitivity, and human rights.
    • There’s an emphasis on community, relationships, and shared feelings.
    • It’s often associated with pluralism, valuing multiple perspectives and approaches.
  7. Integral (Teal/Turquoise):
    • At this stage, there’s an integration of the previous stages. Individuals can value the insights from all prior stages and see their relevance.
    • It’s marked by a holistic worldview, integrating mind and body, masculine and feminine, and science and spirituality.
    • There’s a recognition of complex systems and the interconnectedness of life.
  8. Transpersonal Stages (Indigo and beyond):
    • These stages dive into non-dual awareness, enlightenment, and universal love.
    • The self starts to dissolve, and there’s a deep sense of unity with all existence.
    • These stages often resonate with spiritual traditions and the teachings of mystics.

Wilber emphasizes that these stages are not rigid steps but fluid transitions. As one progresses, they integrate and include insights from the previous stages. Additionally, a person might be at different stages in different areas of their life, and development is multifaceted.